Get "Smart" with Entrepreneurship

As a participant in this 2-hour course, you will discover what entrepreneurship is and is not, how to generate entrepreneurial ideas, how to infuse entrepreneurial thinking into any subject area, and realize the benefits of entrepreneurship for your students.  You will learn how to create a business plan, and how to incorporate these components into a “SMART TANK”! Carol Douglas and Anna Hair will be the facilitators for the course. If you have any questions,  you may contact Carol at cdouglas@wresa.org and Anna at anna.hair@dpi.nc.gov

Chemistry and Physics on the Fly

As a participant in this 2-hour course, you will discover that science can be done as a demo or labs with inexpensive or readily available materials.  Each demo will emphasize Prediction, Observation, Analysis, Next time questions, Applications, and Laboratory safety.  Spanning multiple grades and standards.  Emily Darling and Mark Ethridge will be the facilitators for this course.  If you have any questions, email Emily Darling at edarling@wresa.org and Mark Ethridge at methridge@haywood.k12.nc.us

Engineering in STEM Education

This course focuses on the Engineering Design Process (EDP) in STEM. From a detailed look at the various levels of the EDP to using notebooks and rubrics to assess students progress and writing your own engineering design challenges. You’ll be able to integrate STEM into your classroom in a variety of content areas in providing your students with real world problem solving lessons.  Candie Sellers and Carla Billups will be the facilitators for this course.  If you have any questions, you can reach Candie at csellers@wresa.org and Carla at carla.billups@bcsemail.org